Pop Conference (Seattle) / Sam Green this week's radio guest
Subject: Pop Conference (Seattle) / Sam Green this week's radio guest
Send date: 2010-04-12 18:23:05
Issue #: 41
Content:

 ECC URL du jour:   Our Wikipedia entry (which could use some updating!)
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Evolution_Control_Committee


 

2010 Pop Conference (Seattle)

2010 Pop Conference

2010 Pop Conference at EMP|SFM

The Pop Machine: Music and Technology
April 15-18, 2010
Seattle, Washington

The ECC's TradeMark G. joins Bernardo Attias and Fred Church in Seattle for a very unique panel talk: A discussion of remix culture, which gets remixed live:

The phonograph's cut-and-paste aesthetic, from Dada in the 1920s to '70s avant-gardists and"controllerists" today, will be the focus of this session, in which scholars and participants in electronic music culture will see their commentary integrated into an audio-visual performance manipulated primarily by a DJ controller dubbed the VidiMasher. Discussion to follow.
Featuring:
Bernardo Alexander Attias, "Plagiarhythm Nation: The New "Menace of Mechanical Music"
Fred Church, "Plagiarhythm Nation: The New "Menace of Mechanical Music"
Mark Gunderson, "Plagiarhythm Nation: The New "Menace of Mechanical Music"

This Week's Radio Guests: Sam Green & Dave Cerf

Sam Green (filmmaker)This week's guests are Academy Award-nominated documentary filmmaker SAM GREEN, accompanied by musician DAVE CERF (who hasn't been nominated for anything I know of). Not that we'll be talking about award nominations -- instead, both of them bring an obsession shared by your radio host TradeMark G.: The Voyager Golden Record, the ultimate crate-digger dream and the subject of The ECC's performance, Space: The Vinyl Frontier It's also an appropriate subject on the recent 49th anniversary of the first man in space, Yuri Gagarin.

Many chances to hear the show, and if you can't make the times below, you can hear it at The Sound Of Plaid Archives later in the week.

 

 

LIVE Tuesdays on DFM Radio:

8p-10p PST
11p-1a EST
0500-0700 GMT

 
  ...and their Thursday repeat: 9a-11a PST
noon-3p EST
1800-2000 GMT
 
  Late Saturdays / Early Sundays
on
KAOS Radio Austin:
1a-3a PST
  3a-5a CST
1000-1200 GMT
 
  Thursdays on Shouting Fire:

6p-8p PST
9p-11p EST
0300-0500 GMT

 

ECC Mailing Listrivia: